Back to Top

privacy

General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR): How does the new European data-protection standard impact a company's cloud strategy?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) harmonizes the rules for the processing of personal data by private companies and public authorities throughout the EU. This forces many organizations to think again about the cloud strategy.

Europe’s highest court declares Safe-Harbor-Agreement invalid: What does that mean for cloud providers?

On Tuesday, October 6th, Europe's highest court has declared the Safe-Harbor-Agreement between the United States of America and the European Union invalid. Up to this point the agreement determined that personally identifiable information (PII) of EU citizens are allowed to be transfered to and saved in the United States.

Data security in the cloud: Practical implications of the ISO 27018 certification

According to recent studies the majority of organizations validates recognized security procedures or certifications by independent third parties as crucial decision criterion when selecting a cloud provider.

Serious cloud providers want to be certified by independent parties to guarantee optimal security levels. However, which certification garantees optimal security?

Safe Swiss Cloud launches real enterprise cloud: NSA-free

Real enterprise cloud?

Think of it as your virtual data center (a package of IT infrastructure) becoming your cloud.

We think that a real enterprise cloud is about providing computing resources like CPUs, memory, disk space, network bandwidth, backup space etc. along with the tools to manage them. Most cloud providers however only provide a selection of virtual machines (VMs) of different sizes. We think they are selling glorified hosting and virtualization, but not a real cloud.

Zum Seitenanfang

privacy

General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR): Was bedeutet der neue europäische Datenschutz-Standard für die Cloud-Strategie eines Unternehmens?

Mit der General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) werden die Regeln für die Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten durch private Unternehmen und öffentliche Stellen EU-weit vereinheitlicht. Dies zwingt viele Organisationen zu einem Umdenken in der Cloud-Strategie.

Der Europäische Gerichtshof kippt Safe-Harbor-Abkommen: Was bedeutet das für Cloud-Anbieter?

Der Europäische Gerichtshof hat gestern, Dienstag das Safe-Harbor-Abkommen zwischen den USA und der EU für ungültig erklärt. Mit dem Abkommen wurde bisher festgehalten, dass personenbezogene Daten von EU-Bürgern in die USA übertragen und dort gespeichert werden dürfen.

Datensicherheit in der Cloud: Was das ISO 27018-Zertifikat in der Praxis bedeutet

Nach aktuellen Studien sieht die breite Mehrheit der Unternehmen den Einsatz anerkannter Sicherheitsverfahren oder aber die Zertifizierung durch unabhängige Dritte als entscheidendes Kriterium für die Auswahl eines Cloud-Anbieters an. 

Um dies zu garantieren, lassen sich seriöse Anbieter von unabhängigen Stellen zertifizieren. Doch welches Zertifikat garantiert Sicherheit? 

Safe Swiss Cloud bringt die NSA-freie Unternehmens-Cloud auf den Markt

Echte Enterprise Cloud?

Betrachten Sie es als IT-Infrastruktur-Paket, das zu Ihrer Cloud wird.

Wir denken, dass es bei einer echten Enterprise Cloud darum geht, Computing-Ressourcen wie CPUs, Arbeitsspeicher, Festplattenspeicher, Netzwerkbandbreite, Backup-Speicherplatz etc. zusammen mit den Tools, die diese verwalten, bereitzustellen. Die meisten Cloud-Anbieter bieten jedoch nur eine Auswahl an virtuellen Maschinen (VMs) in verschiedenen Größen an. Wir finden, dass sie nur verherrlichtes Hosting und Virtualisierung verkaufen, aber keine echte Cloud.